Thompson’s
Park
was shown on
Ordnance Survey maps from 1901 until the 1950s, immediately to the west of the
path running west of the miniature lake. It was moved between 1950 and 1980 to
its present position, near the Romilly Road entrance, and it is not
operational. The inscription states that it was presented by Mr C. Thompson.
I have not been able to discover precisely when
this drinking fountain was first commissioned, though the need for such public
watering places was recognised in the mid 1850s and Mr Charles Thompson, the
man who gifted both this fountain and the park itself to the people of Cardiff,
was present at one of the first meetings to discuss the need for drinking
fountains. This report on the monthly meeting of the Cardiff Board of Health
was filed in The Cardiff and Merthyr
Guardian Glamorgan Monmouth and Brecon Gazette, 4 December 1858:

DRINKING
FOUNTAINS.
The Mayor said he had received a letter from a gentleman, named Lewis,
suggesting water fountains in the town. He brought this subject forward six
months ago, but it was then thought to be premature. Mr. R. Williams said, Mr.
C. Thompson was very anxious to do something in the matter, and he asked him to
second any proposition which the Mayor might bring before the board. The Mayor
was of opinion that the Surveyor should recommend the trial of two or three
places where fountains might be put up at the expense of the town, private
parties supplying the water.
Mr. Batchelor: Mr. Thompson had been in correspondence with Mr. Melby, of
Liverpool, and had asked Mr. Paul to produce some designs. That gentleman had
produced the two designs which were on the table, and were accompanied by the
following:— The material proposed to be used throughout is the very hard and
clean limestone from the Pennant quarries near Bristol. The arch above in
design No. 1 to be of red and white bricks. In both cases the stone would be
inserted in an existing wall, or incorporated with a new wall in course of
erection; and the whole would thus be solid and firm, and not liable to
displacement by rough usage. Design No. 2 would be applicable only to a thick
wall—such as the Castle wall, but design No. 1 could be inserted in a brick wall
nine inches only in thickness.
The character of the design is unique, and free from objections, which may be
justly taken to a protruding head or spout for the flow of water. In either
design it is intended to arrange the drips so that nothing larger than a small
can or jug may be used in obtaining water.
The general idea is taken from the accompanying paper published by Mr. Melly on
the drinking fountains recently erected in Liverpool and the suggestions there
given as to supply and overflow are equally applicable here. The estimated cost
of one complete fountain according to design No. 1 is £7 10s. Design No. 2
would cost about £9.
The Mayor moved that the surveyor be requested to name three places as best
fitted for the purpose, and then advertise for the tenders, provided the water
be supplied. Mr. Reece hoped that the Board would be more liberal than that. He
thought that a public body should not only find the fountains but the water.
Mr. Batchelor moved that the surveyor report upon the most eligible spots, and
the number required for the entire town, and put himself in communication with
the Water Works Company, to ascertain the cost per annum at which they will
supply the fountains. A very small stream would be required. The motion was
carried.
It would appear that the Thompson’s Park
drinking fountain was not one of the initial three suggested by the Mayor at
that 1858 meeting. Indeed, it may have been another 35 years before it was
installed, as I discovered from a report in the South Wales Echo, 10 August 1893
CARDIFF
WATERWORKS COMMITTEE
... A letter was read from Mr C. Thompson, Penhill Close, near Llandaff, asking
that the water might be laid on to Cae Syr Dafydd [St David’s Field was the
original name for Thompson’s Park]. The water would be required for watering
the flowers and grass, as well as the supply of a small fountain.— The
committee granted the application subject to such restrictions as would be
required by the engineer.
Corner
of Llandaff and Romilly Roads
I thought the Thompson’s Park fountain was
looking a little sad and neglected but that was nothing compared to the remains
of another drinking fountain, just along the road, on the corner of Llandaff
and Romilly Roads. This fountain is perhaps 25 years older, having been
officially inaugurated in April 1877.
Here’s the report from the South Wales Daily News, 17 April 1877

OPENING OF
DRINKING FOUNTAIN AT CANTON.
Yesterday the fountain erected at the junction of the Llandaff-road and
Romilly-crescent was opened for public use by Alderman Joseph Elliott, Mayor of
Cardiff. Among those present were the Rev Mr Saulez, rector of Canton, Mrs
Saulez, and other ladies; Mr T. V. Yorath, Mr G. F. Webb, Mr Benjamin Wright,
Mr Alex. Melville, Mr G. Salmon, Mr J. A. B. Williams, Mr Geo. Robinson, the
architect; and Mr F. S. Lock, the builder. The proceedings commenced by the Rev
Mr Saulez offering up an appropriate prayer, followed by the reading of a psalm
and the singing of a hymn by the Canton school children. The Mayor, after a few
pertinent remarks, declared the fountain opened. Mr G. F. Webb, Mr B. Wright,
and Mr A. Melville severally expressed their satisfaction in the event, and the
proceedings concluded by a vote of thanks to the Mayor, and a benediction from
the Rev J. W. Saulez. The fountain was prettily decorated with flowers.
It’s
wonderful to see that this drinking fountain has been preserved from demolition
but how much nicer it would be to see it respected and valued as an important
part of Cardiff’s heritage.